(Students are also advised to go through the M.Tech. (ECE) specific regulation and PG Regulations to know other requirement of the M.Tech. degree)

For "M.Tech. in ECE with specialization in Communication," the student must:

- 1. Complete the following core courses of the specialization area.
 - (i) Wireless Networks (CSE538/ECE538)
 - (ii) Advanced Digital Communications (ECE347/ECE547)
 - (iii) Machine Learning (ECE363/ECE563/CSE343)
- 2. If opted for Thesis/Scholarly paper, it should be in the specialization domain (thesis can be at industry collaborator location). The advisor will certify that the agreement with his/her partner firm where students could undertake industrial thesis will be coordinated by them and institute academic norms are duly satisfied. Also, it should be ensured by the adviser that the thesis is in the specialization domain.
- 3. At least 20 or 24 credits should be from specialization electives in addition to the core courses, if opted for "M.Tech. with scholarly paper /capstone project option (of 8 credits/4 credits respectively)"
- 4. At least 28 credits should be from specialization electives in addition to the core courses, if opted for "M.Tech. without thesis and scholarly paper option"

 (An illustration to complete 48 credits is given below with various graduating option.)

(An illustration to complete 48 credits is given below with various graduating option.)

Graduating Option		Specialization Elective	Thesis/SP	IP/IS	Total		
	In Credits						
M.Tech. with thesis	12	12	16	8	48		
M.Tech. with Scholarly Paper	12	20	8	8	48		

/ capstone project (8 cr.)					
M.Tech. with Scholarly Paper /capstone project (4 cr.)	12	24	4	8	48
M.Tech. without thesis and scholarly paper option	12	28	0	8	48

Research Areas:

Wireless communications
Optical communications
Wireless networks
Reinforcement Learning
Automatic control
Satellite navigation and control
Nonlinear Dynamics
GPS/GNSS
Real-time control
Nonlinear Control Theory

Faculty:

- Dr. Abhijit Mitra
- Dr. Anand Srivastava
- Dr. Arani Bhattacharya
- Dr. Debidas Kundu
- Dr. Mukulika Maity
- Dr. Rinku Shah
- Dr. Sambuddho Chakravarty
- Dr. Sanat K Biswas
- Dr. Sanjit K Kaul
- Dr. Sayan Basu Roy
- Dr. Shamik Sarkar
- Dr. Vivek A Bohara